10 out of 10 for Trying

“The fear of failure kills creativity and intelligence. The only thing it produces is conformity.”
Anup Kochhar

Trying new things is always scary!  The whole process gives me sweaty hands and anxiety, but it is the only way to grow better. Fail and learn, fail and learn!

This week I tried my hand at a painting a landscape again (I have done some before, but they always seemed to come out the same – very generic).

Some examples of my old landscapes:

 

Back to my Youtube tutor for tips.  This clip gave me some great advice on painting clouds.

 

So, this week’s attempt at a landscape was not great, but I tried and I learnt new techniques.  But, I think I will stick to my portraits for the next while.

palmblueweb

Not the success I hoped for, but a good learning experience.

 

Earlier this week I did this portrait.

bluebodyweb

I really enjoyed painting this one.

Lastly, I was asked by a friend to do a series of smaller “block” style paintings to present to a gallery next month.

This is the first in the “small block” series I am doing.

greendreamsweb

New series (20cm x 20cm)

Stay posted for more of my art journey!

 

3 thoughts on “10 out of 10 for Trying

  1. sherijkennedyriverside says:

    When you paint landscapes, do you paint them outside actually looking at that view? I find that really help me capture better movement and emotional interest in them – takes away some of the generic feeling. It also works pretty good for me if I do it soon after capturing the view in a photo myself.
    Painting landscapes from an image someone else captured or painted, I find really difficult.

    Like

      • sherijkennedyriverside says:

        You seemed mildly frustrated, so I thought I’d let you know what worked for me in the same situation…Also working outside brought me two accidental techniques that I’ve repeated often. One was adding ice crystal patterns to watercolors by letting the very wet wash layer freeze, and the other is to paint plants (or anything detailed) by laying the very wet watercolor paper near the base (or below a tree, or whatever looks nice)of a plant to catch the pattern of a few nice leaves in shadow on the page. Fill in the shadowed area with paint, and then keep painting it again constantly as the shadow moves. Works best in warm weather with the sun providing strong contrast. That way, as you paint, the paper dries and the image of the shadow becomes clearer and clearer each time. The image moves quickly and the technique creates a beautiful echoed image from crisp to blurred. Especially nice if you change color toward the end for the final image or two. Very fun to try…in fact it made me want to do it again now. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

