Give me a hand, please – week 8

“We have hands; we can stand on them if we want to. That’s our privilege. That’s the joy of a mortal body. And that’s why God needs us. Because God loves to feel things through our hands.”
Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

 

This week was full of practicing drawing hands.  Thankfully I could could make good use of my Loomis book to help me this week.  You can have a look at week 2 of my journey if you would like to download this book to use (it’s free).

Here are some of my quick sketches to practice the anatomy of the hand.

My favourite YouTube clip on drawing hands was from Wei.

 

Fortunately, there are wonderful resources out there to use, like this great article I stumbled across:  How to draw hands.

After gaining a better understanding of the anatomy of the hand, I felt that my toning improved in my drawings.  I paid closer attention to the placement of the bones and the muscles.

 

 

I could also use my hand drawings very well with the “daily one word challenge”. You can check out my submission here:  Empty

Later in the week I had some fun doing master drawing studies.

 

These studies pushed me to draw in a different way as they are shaded with crosshatching.  It is a very tedious exercise, but creates great movement in a drawing.  I am not sure if I could use it in all my drawings as it takes so long.  (The drawing on the right took at least 4 hours to do!)

I am really looking forward to my art journey next week as I will be learning to draw the body as a whole – it will be fun putting all the pieces I have learned over the past two months together in a single drawing.  Stay posted!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Give me a hand, please – week 8

  1. missyjean says:

    Fabulous! Hands are something I am ALWAYS intimidated to sketch, but your post reminded me that I also have not put in the time to practice hand specifically. Great path you are on, and I look forward to seeing your progress.

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

