Learning the basics – week 1

My first week of art training started with large amounts of research.  I realized that I would need a training plan, just like Jeff Watts @wattsatelier said in his video.  But how to start? How do you know what to practice? I spent hours searching the web for answers.

Straight off the bat I realized that I had bad drawing habits.  Most importantly, I did not use my pencil correctly.  I learnt how to sharpen, hold and use my pencil like a pro.

This clip is a bit long, but it was worth it to watch it!

Then I had to learn how to control my pencil correctly.

This clip by Proko is brilliant. As a matter of fact, I have come to absolutely love all the Proko clips.  I watch them over and over to learn new drawing skills @StanProkopenko.

Here is a link to their YouTube channel: Proko, worth it to subscribe!

Some of the examples of the drawing exercises I did over and over this week!

IMG_8282

shading and pencil control

IMG_8281

shading and drawing in perspective

IMG_8280

learning to draw the oval with hand control

(I filled dozens of pages with this!)

I also made myself a portable drawing easel so I could draw wherever I wanted to.

IMG_8320

made with hardboard and wrapped in paper for smooth drawing

In my next post I will be sharing the year plan I set out for myself, my new art routine, some more clips I watched to help me learn and a great book you can download to improve your drawing of portraits.

Thanks for reading and stay posted for more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

